web page hit counter

Pak vs NZ: Shahid Afridi announces 16-man squad for ODI series

KARACHI: Pakistan’s preliminary selection committee on Thursday announced a 16-man squad for the three-game ODI series against New Zealand to be played in Karachi this month.

First batsman Fakhar Zaman was added to the squad after recovering from injury, while Haris Sohail was also called up for the white ball series. Haris last played an ODI for Pakistan in October 2020.

Undefeated Tayyab Tahir, who had an excellent run in national tournaments, was nominated for the first time. Usama Mir was also called up to the squad in place of the injured Shadab Khan.

“I spoke to Shadab this morning, he wasn’t feeling well with a finger injury which is why he wasn’t selected for the series against New Zealand,” said Shahid Afridi during the team announcement in Karachi.

Afridi said the selection committee consulted with team management before announcing the team for the series.

The three-game ODI series will be played in Karachi from January 9th to 13th.

“We have asked Babar and Saqlain to make their selection of 16 players before finalizing this squad where we felt things could improve. We are having a discussion on those matters,” stressed Afridi.

“It was a big responsibility for me, there is no shortage of talent in Pakistan and it has been good for me. I’m only here for a limited time, but the most important thing was to keep Pakistan’s future in mind.

“Our brief was to only announce the squads for the New Zealand Series, but we made our decisions with the future in mind. We also assessed domestic cricket performance,” he concluded.

When asked about players missing the domestic season for fake leagues, Afridi said he is not in favor of players going to the leagues when the home season is played.

He also shared that the players released for the Bangladesh Premier League were urged to return at least 10 days before the start of the Pakistan Super League.

Regarding Sharjeel Khan’s exclusion from the squad, Afridi said that the player was included in the likely list due to his performance in the national team but was not kept in the final squad as he did not receive green signals from the board regarding the inclusion of the doughs


Babar Azam (Captain), Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Haris Sohail, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Hasnain,Shahnawaz Dahani, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Shan Masood, Tayyab Tahir, and Usama Mir

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *